Benoît Johnen became a hard-working « bièrophile » during his first job at the Piron brewery in Aubel. He brewed there several years and, leaving the brewery in 1996, he knew that one day he would brew again. In 1997, he took over the pub of his village and made it a friendly and warm place.

The years that followed were prosperous, but in the head of our brewer, this microbrewery project was still fermenting. It was in 2000 that he started to work: demolition of the annex and construction of the brewery, purchase of equipment from the breweries ‘La Magonnette’ and ‘Ruwet’, adaptation and installation of equipment, layout of premises … The first wort was finally subjected to the voracious appetite of yeasts in January 2002.

The Brice, the Joup, but also the first custom beers: the 3 Schtèng & the Aubel’s beers were born.

Slowly but surely, the small company progressed until producing, in 2007, 750Hl of beers. In 2008, being too cramped next to the pub, it was necessary to move. A few other ideas were added to this project: that of joining new collaborators who will take over the pub and thus bring the brewery to a place more suited to its needs.

For the location of the brewery, the choice was made on the family farm. The former GjCars garage building has been converted into a warehouse and fermentation room. The old barn was demolished to be reconstructed into a spacious, pleasant brewing room, respecting the standards imposed by the AFSCA. In addition, on the first floor of the brewing room, there is a small banquet room. This space can accommodate up to 70 people and is well equipped for rental but will also serve to accommodate large groups who will visit the brewery. The visits can thus conclude with a pleasant moment of tasting. Smaller groups will continue to be welcomed at the Pub Grain d’Orge, in collaboration with the brewery.

Over the years, production has increased. There were many new beers, as well as the new Grain d’Orge products that came to complete the range: Canaille, white beer, Grelotte, festive beer, The Pom, fruity beer, and L’Esprit d’Orge, Liqueur made in collaboration with a regional distillery.

Here we are in 2017 with a production of 4000Hl and a new IPA beer, the Aubel Pure, has joined the range.

Projects, there are still … Come back to see us!

Benoît Johnen est devenu un ‘bièrophile’ acharné lors de son premier emploi à la brasserie Piron d’Aubel. Il y brassa plusieurs années et,  en quittant la brasserie en 1996 il savait qu’un jour il brasserait à nouveau.  En 1997, il reprit le café de son village et en fit un endroit convivial et chaleureux.

Les années qui suivirent furent prospères, mais dans la tête de notre brasseur, fermentait toujours ce projet de microbrasserie. C’est en 2000 qu’il lança les travaux : démolition de l’annexe et construction de la brasserie, rachat du matériel des brasseries ‘La Magonnette’ et ‘Ruwet’, adaptation et installation du matériel, aménagement des locaux … Le premier moût commercial fut finalement soumis à l’appétit vorace des levures au mois de janvier 2002.
Naissent alors la Brice, la Joup, mais aussi les premières bières à façon : la 3 Schtèng, les bières d’Aubel, …

Lentement mais sûrement, la petite entreprise progressa jusqu’à produire en 2007, 750Hl de bières. En 2008, étant trop à l’étroit à côté du café, il fallut déménager. Quelques autres idées sont venues s’ajouter à ce projet : celle de s’associer à de nouveaux collaborateurs qui reprendront le café et ainsi emmener la brasserie dans un endroit plus adapté à ses besoins.

Pour l’emplacement de la brasserie, le choix s’est porté sur la ferme familiale. L’ancien bâtiment du garage GjCars a été aménagé en lieu de stockage et chambre de fermentation ; l’ancienne étable a été démolie pour être reconstruite en une salle de brassage spacieuse, agréable, et respectant les normes imposées par l’Afsca.  De plus, à l’étage de la salle de brassage, une petite salle de banquet a été aménagée. Cet espace peut accueillir jusqu’à 70 personnes et est bien équipée il est destiné à la location mais servira également à recevoir les grands groupes qui visiteront la brasserie. Les visites pourront ainsi se conclure par un moment agréable de dégustation. Les groupes plus restreints continueront à être accueillis au Pub grain d’Orge, en collaboration avec la brasserie.
Au fil des années, la production a augmenté. Nombreuses furent les nouvelles bières à façon, mais aussi les nouveaux produits Grain d’Orge qui vinrent compléter la gamme : la Canaille, bière blanche, la Grelotte, bière de fête, The Pom, bière fruitée, et l’Esprit d’Orge, liqueur à base d’eau-de-vie de notre bière élaborée avec une distillerie régionale.

Nous voilà en 2017 avec une production de 4000Hl et une nouvelle bière de type saison, l’Aubel Pure, est venue rejoindre la gamme.

Des projets, il en reste… Revenez nous voir !